European Cancer Organisation

Lifetime achievement award 2011

2013 Awardee: Françoise Meunier MD, PhD, FRCP

About the award: The ECCO Lifetime Achievement Award 2013 is given to Françoise Meunier in recognition of her personal commitment to furthering the progress against cancer in particular through her scientific leadership and mentorship as Director General of EORTC for many years.

Françoise Meunier received her medical degree from the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) (magna cum laude) and completed a research fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (New York, 1977-1978, Fulbright award). She holds a Master’s Degree in Medical Oncology (1976) and Internal Medicine (1979), and a PhD (1985) at the ULB. She is certified as Pharmaceutical Medicine specialist (Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine, UK) as well as in Belgium and she is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (UK).

As Director General, Françoise Meunier is involved in the coordination and administration of all EORTC activities in order to promote the EORTC as a major European organisation in Cancer Clinical and Translational Research. Françoise Meunier is responsible for the organization of scientific activities, public relations and medium term strategies as defined by the EORTC Board as well as for internal and external the communication.

Before joining the EORTC in 1991, Françoise Meunier was Head of Infectious Diseases Department at Institute Jules Bordet in Brussels, Belgium and her personal area of research included the management of infections in patients with Cancer and mainly Invasive Fungal Infections. She has over 150 peer-reviewed published articles.

  • Françoise Meunier was awarded the Belgian Laureate “Prix Femmes d’Europe 2004-2005”.
  • She is a member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine since 2006. In 2007, she was conferred the title of Baroness by His Majesty, The King Albert II of Belgium.
  • She received in 2009, the Pezcoller Foundation award as a recognition for her contribution to oncology.
  • Since 2011, she is a Fellow of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences.
  • In 2012, she became a member of the IMI (Innovative Medicine Initiative) Scientific Committee of the European Union.
PRINT THIS PAGE Page last modified: